The 49'ers

Over the Years there have been three incarnations of the 49'ers team.

Hoarwithy 49’ers

When Barry Ray moved, with his family to Hoarwithy, Hereford in the early 1980s he still came and played at Tinsley Green each year with his team the Handcross Rebels.

In 1984 a new team appeared the ‘Hoarwithy 49’ers’ with Darren Ray playing at number 3 in the team. Three years later he was joined by sister Alison.

Other team members were Duncan, Alistair, Robert, Alec and Fiona McCready, Gary and Mark Harris, John and Dennis Pardington, Justin O'Neill, Steven Dore and Mick Jennings.

The Hoarwithy 49’ers played until 1995, when they became just the 49’ers for two years 1996 & 97.


The Winning Team 1997


The team changed in 1996 and was David Atkin, Justin O'Neill, Darren Ray, James Masters, Alison Ray and Mat. In 1997 the team was changed to the members we know today Dave Atkin, Mike Plank, Darren Ray, James Masters, Alison Ray and Richie Reimer. 1997 was the year that they won the championships for the first time.


Alison and Darren 1996

Individual winner and Best Lady 2007

Darren and Alison 2007

Handcross 49’ers

In 1998, as most of the team now lived in or around Handcross they renamed the team in honour of the spiritual home. It’s remarkable that for the past 20 years the same team has arrived at Tinsley Green Each year, often or an array of unexpected machines.


The team were

2001, 2005, 2006, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 and 2014

Runners up

You are viewing the text version of this site.

To view the full version please install the Adobe Flash Player and ensure your web browser has JavaScript enabled.

Need help? check the requirements page.

Get Flash Player